WhatsApp announced the official rollout of the ‘Delete for Everyone‘ feature. The new feature is now available to users of the latest WhatsApp versions for Android, iPhone, and Windows Phones. It was a much-demanded feature on the most popular instant messaging service. It essentially allows users to delete messages for everyone that have been sent to either a group or an individual chat. So in the article, I am sharing how you can delete a message, images, videos etc. if the message sent to the wrong chat or contains a mistake.
How to Delete Messages For Everyone in WhatsApp?
You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.
- Update to latest version of WhatsApp for Windows, Android or iPhone.
- Now open WhatsApp and then go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
- Tap and hold the message. Optionally, tap more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
- Finally, tap Delete at the top of the screen, you will see below options.
- Click on “Delete for everyone”.
- That’s it; you have successfully deleted WhatsApp messages for everyone.
- Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats.
- Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.
- Both you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp in order to use the new feature.
- If your friend is not using the latest version of WhatsApp, then this feature will not be supported.
- Recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if the deletion was not successful.
- You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful.